ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 India Venues

Narendra Modi Stadium, previously known as Motera Stadium, Ahmedabad

The Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel Sports Complex in Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India is home to the cricket facility known as the Narendra Modi facility (formerly Motera Stadium). With a capacity of 132,000 people, it is the biggest stadium in the world. The Gujarat Cricket Association owns the stadium, which is used for the Indian Premier League, Test, ODI, T20I, FC, List-A, and T20 cricket events.

The stadium was built in 1983 and had its initial renovation in 2006. It became the city’s go-to location for hosting international matches. The stadium was shut down and destroyed in 2015, and it will be entirely rebuilt by the end of 2020 at an estimated cost of US$100 million or 800 crore.

City: Ahmedabad
Capacity: 132,000
Ends: Adani Pavilion End, GMDC End


Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai

Mumbai, India’s Wankhede Stadium is a venue for international cricket. It is the home field of the Mumbai Indians and is owned and run by the Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA). The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), the MCA, and the Indian Premier League (IPL) all have their headquarters there.

Churchgate, a neighbourhood near Marine Drive, is where the stadium is located. Near the stadium are a number of historic cricket clubs, including the Hindu Gymkhana, Parsi Gymkhana, and Cricket Club of India (CCI). The 2011 Cricket World Cup Final, in which India defeated Sri Lanka and became the first nation to win the Cricket World Cup on home soil, was one of several high-profile cricket games that the stadium has previously played host to. It served as the venue for Sachin Tendulkar’s final international match.

City: Mumbai
Capacity: 33,000
Ends: Garware Pavilion End, Tata End

Wankhede Stadium

Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad

Hyderabad Cricket Stadium, sometimes referred to as the Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, is a cricket stadium in Hyderabad, Telangana, India. It is situated in the eastern Uppal area and spans 15 acres of land with a potential capacity of 55,000 people. The Hyderabad Cricket Association and the Sunrisers Hyderabad squad from the Indian Premier League both call it home. It has held 5 Tests, 7 ODIs, and 3 T20Is as of January 18, 2023. In addition to the 2019 Indian Premier League final, this stadium also hosted the opening and championship games of the 2017 Indian Premier League.

It bears Rajiv Gandhi’s name, a former Indian prime minister.

City: Hyderabad
Capacity: 38000
Ends: Pavilion End, North End

MCA International Stadium, Pune

In Pune, Maharashtra, India, there is a cricket stadium called Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium. The Maharashtra Cricket Association owns and runs it. It is situated in Pune district next to the Pune-Mumbai expressway.

It serves as the home field for both the men’s and women’s cricket teams from Maharashtra and serves as the MCA’s administrative hub. This stadium is located in the village of Gahunje, just outside of Pune’s municipal limits. Prior to the construction of this stadium, the Maharashtra Cricket team played their home matches in Nehru Stadium in central Pune, which also served as the location for MCA-organized international matches.

City: Pune
Capacity: 37,406
Ends: Pavilion End, Hill End

MCA International Stadium

MA Chidambaram Stadium, TamilNadu

Chepauk Stadium sometimes referred to as Muthiah Annamalai Chidambaram Stadium, is a cricket stadium in Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India. It was founded in 1916, making Eden Gardens in Kolkata the oldest cricket ground in the nation. The stadium, formerly known as Madras Cricket Club Ground, bears M. A. Chidambaram Chettiar’s name. He was the previous head of the TNCA and president of the BCCI. The Chennai Super Kings of the Indian Premier League play there as well as the Tamil Nadu cricket team. Chepauk hosted the first Test match on February 10, 1934, the inaugural Ranji Trophy game in 1936, and the first Test victory for the Indian cricket team over England in 1952.

City: Chennai
Capacity: 50000
Ends: Anna Pavilion End, V Pattabhiraman Gate End

MA Chidambaram Stadium

M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru

The Karnataka State Cricket Association Stadium, popularly known as the Mangalam Chinnaswamy Stadium, is a cricket stadium in Bengaluru, Karnataka, India.

This five-decade-old stadium is located in the centre of Bangalore, surrounded by the gorgeous Cubbon Park, Queen’s Road, Cubbon, and uptown MG Road. It routinely holds Test cricket, ODI, Twenty20 International, and other First-class cricket matches, as well as musical and cultural events. It has a seating capacity of 40,000. The stadium serves as the home field for both the Indian Premier League side Royal Challengers Bangalore and the Karnataka state cricket team. The Karnataka State Cricket Association (KSCA) holds a 100-year lease on the property, which is owned by the government of Karnataka.

City: Bengaluru
Capacity: 40,000
Ends: Pavilion End, BEML End

M Chinnaswamy Stadium

Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium, Dharamshala

Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium, abbreviated as the HPCA Stadium, is a beautiful picturesque cricket stadium located in the city of Dharamshala in the Kangra district of Himachal Pradesh, India. The town of Dharamsala is best known internationally as the home of the Dalai Lama of Tibet. It is also considered one of the most beautiful cricket grounds in the world.

City: Dharamsala
Capacity: 23000
Ends: River End, College End

Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium

Eden Gardens, Kolkata

The Eden Gardens is an international cricket stadium in Kolkata, West Bengal, India. Established in 1864, it is the oldest and second-largest cricket stadium in India and the third-largest in the world. The stadium currently has a capacity of 68,000.

City: Kolkata
Capacity: 63,000
Ends: High Court End, Pavilion End

Eden Gardens

BRSABV Ekana Cricket Stadium, Lucknow

Ekana Cricket venue, often referred to as Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium, is a cricket venue used for international matches in Lucknow, India. This venue can accommodate 50,000 people, making it India’s fifth-largest international cricket stadium. The stadium, once known as “Ekana Cricket Stadium,” has deep symbolic significance. The Sanskrit word “ekana” means “one” or “unity” in English. He was later given the new name Bharat Ratna Shree Atal Bihari Vajpayee by the GoUP in honour of the former Indian Prime Minister.

The stadium has the longest straight boundaries in comparison to all the stadiums in India. This arena is the home ground of the Uttar Pradesh cricket team and also the home venue of IPL franchise Lucknow Super Giants.

City: Lucknow
Capacity: 50000
Ends: North End, South End

BRSABV Ekana Cricket Stadium

Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi

The Delhi & District Cricket Association (DDCA) owns and operates the cricket facility known as the Arun Jaitley facility, which is situated on Bahadur Shah Zafar Marg in New Delhi. The stadium was built in 1883 and given the name Feroz Shah Kotla in honour of the neighbouring Kotla Fort. It is India’s second-oldest active international cricket stadium, behind Kolkata’s Eden Gardens. It has held 34 Tests, 25 ODIs, and 6 T20Is as of October 25, 2019.

In a 2017 felicitation ceremony, the DDCA named four stands of the stadium after former India captain Bishan Singh Bedi, former India all-rounder Mohinder Amarnath, former India and Delhi opener Gautam Gambhir. The home team’s dressing room was named after Raman Lamba and the away dressing room after Prakash Bhandari.

City: New Delhi
Capacity: 48000
Ends: Stadium End, Pavilion End

Arun Jaitley Stadium

Also Read This: ICC Cricket World Cup 2023: The Road to Glory Begins

Buy Ticket Online: Link-1, Link-2, Link-3

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top